Website Update and CV

I’ve updated my About page on my website as it seemed a little impersonal and didn’t really communicate me as a person as well as it could… especially for an ‘about’ page.

WEB

I’ve tried to make it a lot more personal and friendly by instantly greeting whoever is reading it with a nice big “Hi!”. I’ve also added in a bit of information about me as a person and about my background, which I think is interesting for people to read but can also help people understand where I am coming from and so understand me as an artist a bit better.
I’ve also included a direct link to my contact page as I know people can be a bit lazy at times so having the link right there might encourage people a bit more.

 

The change is tone was largely inspired by Gemma Correll’s about page…

gemcorrell

Gemma Correll’s website is incredibly personal and is instantly recognisable as her own. Her artwork is quite distinctive anyway and the use of thick black pen with red colour is carried over into her website as well as the friendly, conversational tone.

Her about section is very ‘to the point’ and is almost bullet points, but I like how she greets the viewer directly.

The humour of her work is also mirrored in the section of ‘What other people are saying about my work…’ :

What other people are saying about my work …
“wtf. worst cartoons ever!” – Luc Walker of Australia
“I don’t understand this new illustration trend that’s… just bad pen drawings … at least put effort into things not pen doodles” – Gabe, from Twitter (and also, Australia)
“… ugly, pig-faced drawings … ” – Angry Canadian lady
“How is this funny? Like at all?” – Mariah (location unknown, but I’m guessing probably Australia)

It’s interesting how much you get a sense of the artist from what is essential quite little information.

 

As for my CV, I’ve decided to create two. One for applying to illustration type roles, mainly within publishing as I really enjoy my part time job at the moment and would like to continue on this path. The second for animation type roles, as this is also something I could see myself doing and I hope to apply for some work experience in the near future to see if it’s something I want to pursue long-term.

Since the applications are for artsy jobs, the CVs can reflect this. I still want mine to be slick and professional, but also eye-catching and communicative about me and my personality. For these reasons I’m thinking it could be good to have the CVs printed onto thick coloured paper (different colour for each of the two so I don’t send it to the wrong place). I might then also fit it into an envelope with a hand written address as getting personal post seems so extraordinary nowadays and this personal touch could really set me apart.

I’m also thinking it would be good to use elements from my website to really create myself into a brand and so that if the employer looks me up, they recognise me instantly.

Once I have the template of the two CVs done I can the tweak them accordingly to the specific job role/ application. For example, Rowanvale were looking for specific qualities so what I referred to, and the work I chose to show them reflected this.

Leave a Reply

